The John W. Curtis Chapter Service Award recognizes outstanding individual achievement through chapter activity and service to the Wisconsin Chapter while supporting the Association’s strategic plan, goals, and objectives.

The recipient of this year’s John W. Curtis Chapter Service Award is Bob Givens, Project Manager for Westwood Infrastructure, Inc.

Bob joined APWA approximately 20 years ago and has been attending spring and fall conferences ever since. He has planned, coordinated and chaired several of them. Bob has served as the water resource committee chair, director, vice president, president elect and president. Now he serves on the past president’s committee and is an alternate delegate to the national APWA organization.

Bob is a water resource service leader and has his master’s in Civil and Environmental Engineering from UW-Madison. Bob is a professional engineer and professional hydrologist.

Bob is a Chicago Bears fan and is fascinated with history, including the birth of our nation and pre-Columbian civilizations. He has traveled to southern Mexico to almost 50 ancient ruin sites. Bob is also bilingual.

Bob served the chapter through the pandemic and stayed on when the Chapter extended its election of officers to the spring. He has served the Chapter well and for that we say congratulations Bob and thank you for your service. Bob is pictured below.

Please reference the documents below for more information and to submit a nomination.

Past John W. Curtis Chapter Service Award Recipients:

2022 Bob Givens, Westwood Professional Services

2021 Mary Dziewiontkoski, City of Milwaukee

2020 James Hessling, Village of McFarland

2019 John Edlebeck, Village of Whitefish Bay

2018 Scott Brandmeier, Village of Fox Point

2017 Clark Wantoch, Wisconsin Concrete Pipe Association

2016 Michael Dailey, City of Madison

2015 Paul Woodard, City of Janesville

2014 David Botts, City of Janesville

2012 Carl Weber, City of Janesville

2011 William Dunlop, SRF Consultants

2010 Dale Hexom, City of La Crosse

2009 Brian Amundson, City of Eau Claire

2008 Maurie Rott, Batterman Consultants

2007 Wiliam Kappel, City of Wauwatosa

2006 Jeff Mazanec, R.A. Smith National, Inc.

2005 Larry Nelson, City of Madison

2004 Jim Blazek, City of Racine

2003 John Curtis, HNTB

Back to top