The purpose of this award is to recognize and encourage new or young APWA-WI members who have demonstrated an initial commitment to the profession and the association and show potential for future growth within the association. The award promotes the concept that length of career does not necessarily indicate leadership abilities or potential for service. In addition, the award recognizes that becoming an active member of the association will not only strengthen the association, but also grow stronger Public Works leaders.

The recipient of the year’s Outstanding New Member Impact Award is Matt Wittum, Highway Superintendent for the Town of Linn.

Although Matt is a relatively new member of APWA, he has shown through his work that he is committed to public works. He has published winter maintenance articles in numerous publications and has authored the book “Municipal Snow and Ice Control” published by APWA. He has presented at the North American Snow and Ice Conference and is an instructor for snow and ice operator certification classes. In three years, Matt has revamped the Town of Linn’s snow and ice control practices. With his leading, the Town of Linn implemented the utilization of a homemade salt brine production and liquid blending system, anti-ice sprayers for pre-treatment of roads, and computer controlled distribution systems for materials to ensure proper quantities were being applied. Matt has presented at “Wednesday Webinars” education programs through the Salt Wise initiative; he has spoken at the League of Wisconsin Municipalities and is pursuing instruction of Salt Wise certification classes throughout the State.

Congratulations Matt! Keep up the good work!

For more information and to submit a nomination, please review the following documents accessible below:


Past Outstanding New Member Award Recipients:

2021 Theo Taylor, ADS

2020 Kamron Nash, City of Janesville

2019 Rebecca Alonge, Ruekert & Mielke

2018 Aaron Jahncke, City of Portage

2017 Michael Wodalski, Village of Weston

2016 Holly Powell, City of Fitchburg

2015 Tyler Smith, Monona Plumbing and Fire Protection

2014 Eric Dundee, City of Madison

Back to top